Share |

Tonto Dikeh, Kiki Omeili win Afro Hollywood Awards

As best actress and best supporting role in an English language film respectively

The 17th African Film Awards 2012, also known as the Afro Hollywood Awards, organised by African Voice Newspaper, UK, took place in Akure, Ondo State.

The Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN) Governorship candidate in the State, Rotimi Akeredolu, SAN, announced and presented certificates of excellence to the winners.

"I'm happy Governor Rauf Aregbesola supports you. To our artistes here tonight, your endorsement means a lot to us, your presence at our campaigns mean a lot to us. A lot of people come to our campaigns because they want to see you, listen to you," Akeredolu said.

Tonto Dike beat Chika Ike and Omoni Oboli to win the award for the Best Actress in an English language film category, while Best Actress Yoruba language film was won by Ayo Adesanya.

Prince Mike Abiola, publisher of African Voice Newspaper UK and Chairman of the awards organisation, said: "I am so pleased with the result of the distinguished and independent panel of film critics who endeavoured to watch many Nollywood films to arrive at the winners. Congratulations to all the winners and nominees."

Best Director in an English film was won by Mahmud Ali Balogun. The Best actor and actress supporting role in a Yoruba language film was won by Toyin Aimaku and Muka Ray respectively.

The highlight of the event was Kiki Omeili beating Oge Okoye and Nse Ikpe Etim to win the Best Actress in supporting role in an English language film award.

The medical doctor turned actress played the role of Titi in movie 'Married but Living Single'. She has also starred in 'Behind the Smile', 'The Valley Between', 'Gidi Culture', A Mother's Fight', 'Nesrea's Watch', 'Footprints' and, most recently, 'Lekki Wives'.

The African Actor of the Year will be announced in London as Joseph Benjamin goes head to head with Van Vicker and South African Jafta Mamabolo, who is famed for his role in 'Otelo Burning'.

All winners will be attending the annual awards slated for November 3 at the historic Stratford Town Hall London.

Full list of winners:

Best Actress (English language film): Tonto Dikeh

Best Actress (Supporting Role in an English language film): Kiki Omeili

Best Actress (Yoruba language film): Ayo Adesanya

Best Actress (Supporting Role in a Yoruba language film): Toyin Aimaku

Best Actor (Yoruba language film): Adefemi Salami

Best Actor (Supporting Role in a Yoruba language film): Muka Ray

Best Actor (Hausa language film): Aminu Sherif Momoh

Best Actress (Hausa language film): Mayam Booth

Veteran Actor: Tafa Oloyede

Veteran Actress: Abeni Balogun

Best Director (English film): Mahmud Ali Balogun

Best Director (Yoruba film): Yemi Amodu

Best Marketer (Yoruba film): Biodun Ibitola - Remdel Ultimal

Best Marketer (English film): Andy Best

Best Male Comedy Talent: Hafiz Oyetoro (Saka)

Best Female Comedy Talent: Helen Paul (Tatafo)


dats a very gud news if patiality ws nt attarched to it.